The Binding of Isaac

4 thoughts on “The Binding of Isaac

  1. My name is Whit Johnstone. I am a lay worship leader in training in the Diocese of Southern Ohio. I have been asked to put together a liturgy for morning prayer, including a sermon, for July 2nd of this year as part of my education. I must include a pre-prepared sermon since I will not be a licensed preacher. None of the sermons on “sermons that work” for Proper 8 A appeal to me. Two of them make a Marcionite distinction between the God of the Old Testament and the God of the New Testament. The other one is better, but it deals with the difficult Old Testament text by ignoring it completely in favor of the Epistle, but I think a passage like the Abraham/Issiac story needs interpretation. I found your sermon via textweek.com. I would like your permission to read this sermon, with due credit to you, to my lay worship leader class as part my hands on training, and potentially to the congregation of Trinity Episcopal Church in Newark Ohio. I will of course, make it abundantly clear that you, not I, wrote this sermon. Thank you for your time, and God bless you for putting these sermons out there.

  2. Your interpretation is certainly plausible, but … it avoids two important verses which are related: verse 12, “Now I know” and verse16, “Because you have done this [been willing to sacrifice your son] … I will indeed bless you.” In my opinion these make it clear that Abraham passed the test. It is indeed a most difficult passage to interpret.

Leave a Reply

